The creation of the original “Syllabus of Magic – Merlin’s Quest” goes back to 1997, and was Neil H’s fifth release.

Inspired by the chapter "A Coversation with Merlin" from the book "Journey into the New Age" by Chris Porter.

The album represented a mystical journey back to the times of legend when Merlin’s magic affected the lives and visions of a hopeful nation emerging upon a changing world.

The album also featured djembe drumming (kabudu style) by Torr McFarlane, giving the album a haunting moodiness and old world charm.

The cover artwork for this album is called "Transformation" by
Patrick Gamble

More of the writings by Chris Porter can be found via his website


Syllabus of Magic - Merlin's Quest

  • Included in this Limited Deluxe Edition

    Disc 1

    1. Merlins Quest

    2. Time Beyond the Mist

    3. Mystic Journey

    4. Pathway to Wisdom

    5. Spellbound

    6. Beyond the Light

    7. To the Gateway of Eternity

    8. Everything is...Magic

    9. A Meeting of Minds

    10. Journey within the Depths of Wisdom

    Also available in the Download Store 

    Disc 2

    1. A Conversation with Merlin - Written and Narrated by Chris Porter

    Disc 1 Total Length: 67 minutes

    Disc 2 Audio Book:  35 minutes

    A 'Unicorn' Artcard by Patrick Gamble